26 March, 2024

Election to remember

Division 2 councillor Mark Booth has won his ward with the largest first preference count in Moreton Bay Council history, receiving 86.24 percent of votes over Animal Justice Party Queensland candidate Gregory Dillon.

Cr Mark Booth celebrating historic win with campaign team and family.
Cr Mark Booth celebrating historic win with campaign team and family.

Cr Booth said the massive victory validates the approach he took into the campaign, valuing transparent communication and community engagement.

Among the first items on his agenda is to “get stuck into preparation for the next planning scheme”.

“We know the 2016 Scheme didn’t quite fit residents’ expectations, so I want to make sure we get the next one right,” he said.

“As the current co-chair of the Planning and Development Portfolio, I’d love to have it delivered within the next four years.

“I’m excited to get back around the table and pick up where we left off, with 12 returning councillors and one newly elected, it means we can keep the momentum we have built up over the past four years and deliver even more for Moreton Bay.”

Cr Booth thanks all his supporters and says he will “continue to deliver for all residents, regardless of which box you marked”.

Another two re-elected councillors also made the list of top 10 first preference counts in Moreton Bay history, with Division 6 councillor Karl Winchester ranking as 6th on list, having 71.62 per cent of votes and Division 10 councillor Matt Constance being 10th, winning with 65.32 per cent of votes.

Adam Hain (Div 3) and Tony Latter (Div 12) have also been declared winners, along with uncontested candidates Mayor Peter Flannery, Brooke Savige (Div 1), Jodie Shipway (Div 4), Yvonne Barlow (Div 7), Catherine Tonks (Div 9) and Darren Grimwade (Div 11).

Cr Hain said the win was “very humbling, but also a reality check that it’s back to work”.

“Winning the election means I can maintain momentum on all the major projects I have been looking to deliver this next term,” he said.

“This election was really tough, never before have I felt such a genuine unease in the community in general.

“A large amount of the issues that were raised aren’t in council’s abilities to action, but some were, and I have noted all of them and will action accordingly.”

Divisions 5 and 8 are still counting votes, with Sandra Ruck and Jim Moloney looking like the probable winners respectively.

Somerset councillor votes are still counting, with the sixth seat being a close call between sitting councillor Bob Whalley and newcomer Michael Bishop.

With less than 300 votes between them and just 85 per cent of votes counted, the winner could be either one (as of March 26).

Tiara Hurley, Sally Jess, Helen Brieschke, Brett Freese and Kylee Isidro seem to be locked in for the other five Council seats.

Jason Wendt has officially been declared Somerset mayor, winning by a 22 per cent margin over Sean Choat.

Mark Booth and family.
Mark Booth and family.

Most Popular