7 September, 2022

Grand final glory for Caboolture FC U23 women

CABOOLTURE Sports FC was crowned champions in this year’s FQPL3 Metro U23 Women’s division, as the team won the grand final 4-1 against Toowong FC at Corporate Travel Management Stadium last Sunday.

To the victors go the spoils…Caboolture Sports FC celebrates winning the premiership in the FQPL3 Metro U23 Women’s division. Photo credit: atnc photography.
To the victors go the spoils…Caboolture Sports FC celebrates winning the premiership in the FQPL3 Metro U23 Women’s division. Photo credit: atnc photography.

For most of the Caboolture players it was their first premiership at this level, after many of them were in a premiership in another team, division and age group at some stage.

It was also a special moment for co-coach Tina Mawer, in her first year as a senior women’s coach.

“It is very surreal, it has been a big season,” she said.

“The ladies have trained as a squad with the senior women for most of the season, and to finish as premiers and grand finalists is an amazing achievement.

“The U23 women’s winning the premiership and grand final shows that Caboolture Sports Football Club has a pathway of talented players seeking to reach a higher level of football.”

Mawer said about a third of the team had previously played together while another third had played for the club in different teams, and that the other third was new to the club this year.

“This has been a challenge for the team at the start of the season to bring together their strengths and weaknesses and for coaches to find the best positions for all the players and the best formation,” she said.

Mawer said Caboolture was in control for most of the grand final and never looked like losing, although Toowong put up a brave fight in the first half.

Caboolture’s Beau Acworth opened the scoring as she drove the ball into the back of the net after making a blinding run down the sideline.

Despite creating a lot of chances in the first half, Caboolture could not capitalise.

Toowong levelled the score from a penalty, with the ball hitting the crossbar and then resulting in an own goal.

The Caboolture players returned for the second half with fire in their bellies, with Mawer later saying they were “energised and ready to win”.

Another own goal took place in the first 10 minutes of the second half, with Caboolture benefiting this time.

Following a well-positioned through ball from Tylor Haas, Shei Kastelan sent the ball across the face of goal before Amera Minchenton contested the ball, which bounced into goal off a Toowong player.

The next goal came as Sam Koessler took a corner kick, which was headed by Arabella Cramm to Bronte Aranovitch who headed the ball into the net.

Jill Kosseris scored the final goal following a through ball, as she took the ball downfield and sent a composed shot into the back of the net.

Mawer said Acworth, Koessler, Aranovitch and Haas were the standout performers while all players put in a solid performance and gave 110 percent.

“All players worked hard on or off the ball and it was definitely a team effort,” Mawer said.

Kosseris (24 goals in 17 games), Acworth (13 in 14), Cramm (12 in 17), Koessler (10 in 17) and Minchenton (8 in 14) were also the competition’s top five scorers.

“The U23 team had a standard team of 16 ladies throughout the season which has seen them grow together as a team, learning to communicate, cover for each other, build trust and believe in the strategies and tactics they were given,” Mawer said.

“They had constant focus and good mental fortitude through the season.”

In other good news for the women’s squad, head coach Jack Gynther won the FQPL3 Coach of the Year award.

“Caboolture Sports Football Club has invested heavily in coaching development attributing to three C licence coaches in the women’s squad,” Mawer said.

“We hope this will bring more talented women and girls to the club next year and help grow female football at Caboolture Sports Football Club.”

Mawer said most of this year’s premiers would remain eligible for U23s next year.


Most Popular